Jean-Pierre Deffis re-elected EFBW President 2016-2018

Category: News

Jean-Pierre Deffis, EFBW President

Francisco Vallejo, EFBW Vice-President

Alessandro Pasquale, EFBW Vice-President

Bob Watson, EFBW Treasurer and Vice-President

Bucharest, 17 June 2016. The European Federation of Bottled Waters (EFBW) unanimously re-elected Mr. Jean-Pierre Deffis as its President for a two-year mandate. The elections took place during EFBW’s Annual Meetings in Bucharest, Romania, from 14th to 16th June 2016, and were hosted by the Romanian Association of Natural Mineral Waters (APEMIN).

Mr. Deffis is French and previously held high-ranking positions at Aguas de España and Group Mahou San Miguel in Spain as well as Blédina and Danone Waters in France. Moreover, he was President of the French Bottled Water Association for more than six years.

In response to his appointment, Mr. Deffis said: “I am honoured to continue as the head of the European Federation of Bottled Waters, especially as our category is continuously growing which is a reflection of consumers’ increased request for healthy hydration and natural products. The main priority for the upcoming two years will be to ensure that the outstanding quality of natural mineral and spring waters is recognised and maintained by rigorously protecting catchment areas across Europe. Another key objective is to further strengthen the sector’s contribution to a circular economy in collaboration with all stakeholders.” During the EFBW Annual General Meeting, he also stressed the fact that bottled water had an important role to play in the context of rising obesity and the prevention of chronic diseases: “Natural mineral and spring waters are the most natural source of healthy hydration because they contain zero calories, no additives and are pure at source. With the help of our national associations and the bottled water producers, I am very confident we will succeed in raising awareness on how natural mineral and spring waters can make a significant contribution to a healthier lifestyle.

In addition, Mr. Bob Watson of the British Soft Drinks Association (BSDA) was re-elected as EFBW Vice-President and Treasurer. Mr. Francisco Vallejo, President of the Spanish Mineral Water Association (ANEABE) and Mr. Alessandro Pasquale, CEO of Karlovarské minerální vody a.s., will also continue their excellent work as EFBW Vice-Presidents for a further term.     


About EFBW

The European Federation of Bottled Waters (EFBW) is the voice of the bottled water industry, dedicated to promoting the unique qualities of natural mineral and spring water among EU institutions and international organisations. EFBW is a registered international not for profit trade association with a membership base of national trade associations and direct member companies. In total, EFBW represents almost 600 natural mineral and spring water producers in Europe. EFBW offers expertise in regulatory issues, scientific and technical affairs as well as matters relating to health and the environment. 

Media contact

Lisa Strübbe

European Federation of Bottled Waters

Email: lisa.struebbe(at)

Tel: +32 (0) 2 880 20 31


by PEAK Sourcing